Click here to see us on facebook.

February 2019

Feb. 21, Thur. - Fred Dressel, ORATORICAL CONTEST

                              - young men & young women same day

Feb. 21, Thur. - Optimist Prime @ Eudora 5:30 - 7:30 PM
Guest Speaker: PK Sam

Feb. 24, Sun. - Wright State Women's vs. Youngstown St.  2:00 PM
Eat at Chicago Gyros on Indian Ripple Rd. - Noon
Contact Harry Vearn

March 2019

Mar. 4, Mon. - Tentative RE-DO Day at Kettering MS

Mar. 7, Thur. - ZONE Oratorical Contest

Mar. 11, Mon. - Tri-Star Basketball @ Trent Arena 5:00 - 7:00 PM

Mar. 21, Thur. - Optimist Prime @ Eudora 5:30 - 7:30 PM

April 2019

Apr. 18, Thur. - Optimist Prime @ Eudora 5:30 - 7:30 PM

May 2019

June 2019


August 2019

Aug. 3, Sat. - KIDS DAY in the PARK

Dor-Wood Optimist Club GUEST SPEAKERS

Below is a partial listing of some of our past guests.

> Tony Capizzi - Juvenile Court Judge
> Mark Schwieterman - Kettering City Manager
> Peggy Lehner - State Senator of Ohio
> Cincinnati Reds Caravan with players &
    Hall of Fame broadcaster
Marty Brennaman.
> Rick Chamberlin, Univ. of Dayton football coach
> Mike Kelly, former Univ. of Dayton football coach & current Assist. A.D.
> Scott Nagy,
W. S. U. Men's Basketball Coach
> Katrina Merriweather, W.S.U. Women's Basketball Coach
> Billy Donlon, former W. S. U. Men's Basketball Coach
> Ron Chalecki, Mended Little Hearts
> Tina Patterson, Executive Director - Homefull
> Oliver Purnell, former U.D., Clemson & DePaul basketball coach
> Kellen Winslow, former Central State Univ. Athletic Director
> Larry Hansgen, WHIO Radio News & Sports
> Mike Hartsock, WHIO TV Sports Director
> Tom Nichols, Dayton Dragons
> Dave Roer, Special Wish Foundation
> Arnold Sanders & Roger Doty, SCORE (Service Corps
    of Retired Executives)
> Respectively, former Alter & Fairmont basketball coaches
    Joe Petrocelli and Hank Bias
> Alter & Fairmont football coaches
> Neil Sullivan, University of Dayton Athletic Director
> Charles Sousa, Jr., Senior Resource Connection
> Connie Steinke, Director, St. Vincent Hotel / Depaul Center
> Ralph Denneler, Dayton Theater Guild
> Amy Radachi, Chairperson, Rebuilding Together
> Mary Beth Thaman, Kettering Parks & Recreation
> Rich Pearson, Cox Arboretum
> Mike McCall, Senior U.S. Open Golf
> Mark Adams, Sports Announcer
> Tom Archdeacon, Dayton Daily News sports columnist
> Bob Grant, Wright State U. Athletic Dir.
> Eric Deutsch, Dayton Dragons
> Clint Garber, Boy Scouts of America
> Brian Gregory, former U. D. basketball coach
> Tim Harrison, Wildlife Expert - snakes, sharks, crocs
> The late Matt Hieb, Dorothy Lane Market
> The late Tony Huesman, Heart Association
> John Husted, Ohio Secretary of State
> Ken Lackey, Kettering Schools, Dir. of Business
> Chick Ludwig, Sports writer & radio sports talk show host
> Deborah Jay, Juvenile Court
> Ray Marcano, Dayton Daily News
> Officer Tom McEwan, Computer Fraud
> Adam Middleton, Dayton Heart Hospital
> Ron Nischwitz, former W.S.U. Baseball coach
> Vicky Pegg, Dayton Politics
> Alan Pippenger, Requarth Lumber
> Doris Ponitz, Passage to Peace
> Grey Reinhart, Iditarod Race 
> The late Diana Schwab, Golf
> Charles Simms, Builder
> Brad Smith, U.D. Golf
> John Tirpak, Appalachian Trail
> The late Omar Williams, Dayton sports journalist & reporter
> Wendy Ernst - Daybreak
Jim O'Dell, retired Chief of Police, Kettering
> Shauna Green, U. D. Women's Basketball Coach
> Mike Bradbury, Wright State Women's Basketball Coach
> Jim Butler, Ohio State Representative
> David Lawrence, C.A.O. / Former Principal - Dayton Reg. STEM School
> Randy Overbeck, Teachers: The Real American Heroes
> Cindy Smith - C.A.P.S.S.
> Debbie LeValley - 7 Continents Club
> Carolyn Rice - Montgomery County Treasurer

> Tom Butts
, Fire Chief, City of Kettering
Alan Gabel, The Macedonia Experience
Janis James, Bee Keeper
Jacque Fisher, Kettering Backpack Program
> Andy Niekamp, Hiking the Appalachian Trail

>  Kerri Miles, Kettering Environmental Educ. Coord.
> Professor Thomas Girvin, "Movie Magic"
> Mike Bellanca, Siebenthaler's Garden Center
> Ken Neufeld, Victoria Theater Association
> Scott Fowler, Amusement Park History
> Katie Tilly, SICSA
> Wade O'Connor, Elite Basketball Academy
> Scott Inskeep, Supt. Kettering City Schools
> Eric Horstman, Flyin' to the Hoop Basketball
> Jamie Jarosik WDTN Meteorologist
> Judge Dennis Adkins, Mont. County Veterans Treatment Court
Angie Hoschouer, Woodland Cemetery
> Capt. Eric Piper, Coast Guard Auxilliary
> Tanya Brock, Carillon Brewing Co.
> Pam Skelly, Resident Home
> Jay Weiskircher, Oakwood Assistant City Manager
> Jeff Giles, Dir. of Development - W.S.U. Athletics
> Partners for a Healthy Youth
> Mollie McGinnis, Clean Care
> Ashley Pester, CHOICES
> Kris Horlacher, Shoes4theShoeless
> Monnie Bush, Dayton Victory Project
> Steve Flickinger, Sons of the Amercian Revolution

> Jeff Long, A. D. @ Univ of Kansas / Bowl Champ. Committee
> Lynn Wood, Muse Machine
Don Donoher, Early Days of U.D. Basketball
> Jane Klose, Dayton/Montogmery County Library
> Jay Minton, Wayne H.S. Football
> Jeanne Evans - Miami Institute of Food & Spirit
> David Schmidt - Kettering & Oakwood History
> Nancy Bernotaitis - Good Works Farm
> James Brown, WHIO TV News Anchor
> Bryan Erdmann, Wellness
> Mark Fisher,
DDN Restaurant / Beverage Writer
> Maureen Swarts, Hospice
> Steve Popp, Better Business Bureau
Jane Novick, CASA child advocacy
Lori Bryner & Bonnie Pittl, Kettering Back Pack Program 
> Brigid's Path, Jill Kingston & Dr. Richard Rapp
> Chris Corba & Darlene Langhout, We Care Arts 
> Becky Edgren, Surviving Fire
> Tim Williams, former OSU Kicker
> Eric Dahlstrom, RiverScape River Run
> Mike Pittman, The Life of Bees
> Hal Melia, Jazz Band Camp
> Jonelle Carroll, Youth & Family Community
> Chris Weaver, Athletic Director - Fairmont High School
> Tom Hissong, "North to Alaska", Inside Passage
> Doug Gabriel, Mound Science Museum
> Mark Bowron, WHIO Radio/TV Traffic Reporter
Rich Stepler, pilot of Wright "B" Flyer
> Katie Klain, The Glen at St. Joseph
> Tony Vittorio, Jaclyn Foundation
> George Wymer, Dayton Radio / Entertainment
> Lisa Wagner, Levitt Pavilion Exec. Director
> Shannon Schweitzer, Lions Eye Bank
> Dale Brunner, Metro YMCA
> Magistrate Gerald Parker, Building Bridges
> Shayna McConville & Susan Bennett, Kettering Arts Council
> Tyler Alexander, Fairmont High School Principal
> Josh Postorino, Director of Athletic Development, U. D.
> Bill Tschirhart - Three Rivers Metroparks
Craig Boring, Ex. Dir. O. I. Foundation
> Ann Morrissey, AGAPE for Youth
> Eric Watne, David's Cemetery
> Jessica Berry, The Modern College of Design

Since March 1, 2010